The War Against the Poor: Occupy Wall Street and the Politics of Financial Morality

from TomDispatch

The organized right justifies its draconian policies toward the poor with moral arguments.  Right-wing think tanks and blogs, for instance, ponder the damaging effect on disabled poor children of becoming “dependent” on government assistance, or they scrutinize government nutritional assistance for poor pregnant women and children in an effort to explain away positive outcomes for infants.

The willful ignorance and cruelty of it all can leave you gasping — and gasp was all we did for decades.  This is why we so desperately needed a movement for a new kind of moral economy.  Occupy Wall Street, which has already changed the national conversation, may well be its beginning.

First they went after the single mothers, but I didn’t care cos I wasn’t a single mother;
then they went after the disabled, but I didn’t care cos I wasn’t disabled;
then they went after the unemployed, but I didn’t care cos I wasn’t unemployed;
they they went after the students, but I didn’t care cos I was no longer a student;
then they went after the working classes & their unions, but I didn’t care cos I considered myself middle class & didn’t believe in unions;
then they came after the middle classes …

Leave a Reply

